January 17, 2013

Chamorro Culture, Destination Improvement, and China Visa Top Priorities

Tumon, Guam - The incoming board of directors held a special meeting today and elected Mark Baldyga as its chairman.  Baldyga, a local businessman, is president of Baldyga Group. The board also elected Bruce Kloppenburg, Vice Chairman, Theresa Arriola, Secretary, and Oscar Miyashita, Treasurer.

The other members of the GVB board of directors are Bart Jackson, Norio Nakajima, Milton Morinaga, Nathan Taimanglo, Jennifer Camacho, Mayor of Agat Carol Tayama who will be replaced by Sinajana Mayor Robert Hoffman, Eduardo Calvo, former Senator Judith Gutherz, and Annmarie Muna (alternate).

Baldyga, a member of GVB for 20 years, recently served as the vice chairman, chairman of the executive committee and Chairman of the Japan marketing committee.

“I'm extremely excited and passionate about the opportunities and looking forward to doing my best on behalf of the industry and the people of Guam," Baldyga said. “My top priorities will be pursuing China visa waiver, focusing on improving the quality and image of the destination, and putting Guam's unique Chamorro culture front and center.”

The Japan market saw substantial growth under his leadership and continues to see increases that have not been seen since the mid 1990’s. GVB Vice Chairman and long time Board Member Bruce Kloppenburg praised Baldyga for his efforts saying, "Mark is a visionary and a successful entrepreneur.  I have no doubt that Guam will benefit from his outstanding marketing and management skills."

At the same meeting, the GVB Board elected the following Directors to serve as Chairpersons of the various advisory committees:

Dr. Judith Guthertz – Committee on Administration & Government Relations

Theresa Arriola – Cultural Heritage and Community Outreach Committee

Mayor Carol Tayama – Destination Management Committee

Bruce Kloppenburg – Membership Committee & Greater China Committee

Nathan Taimanglo – Research Committee & Sports and Events Committee

Milton Morinaga & Norio Nakajima – Japan Marketing Committee

Oscar Miyashita – Korea Marketing Committee

Bartley Jackson – Russia & New Markets Committee

Annmarie Muña – North America & Pacific Markets Committee